Emirates Golf Club celebrated its 25th anniversary in 2013, the following year also witnessed the 25th staging of the Dubai Desert Classic.  This famous tournament has been played on the Majlis course on all, but two occasions when it was staged at Dubai Creek Golf & Yacht Club.

To mark the 25th anniversary, a gallery was installed to record the history of both the club and the tournament that included one of the clubs used by the various champions from the tournament that they won, or from the same year.

The collection contains many significant clubs, including the only wooden driver, a Ben Hogan persimmon driver of 1989 champion Mark James and the Titleist wedge of 2013 champion Stephen Gallacher, with which he holed his second shot for an eagle two on the par 4 16th during the final round. Rory McIlroy donated his Nike driver from his 2015 triumph, McIlroy is one of four players who have won the prestigious title on more than one occasion, the other players include Ernie Els (three time champion), Tiger Woods (two victories) and Stephen Gallacher (back to back winner in 2013 and 2014). The collection has clubs from every one of the championships that have been hosted so far. The Ballesteros family donated a Slazenger sand wedge used by the late, great Seve in 1992, and the pattern of wear on the grooves clearly shows how pure his ball striking was.

Following Colin Montgomerie's victory in 1996 he was presented with a gold plated Ping Zing putter by Ping in recognition of the win. Colin kindly donated this putter to the gallery as it was a replica of the one he used to clinch his title.

Next to the display of clubs is the famous Dubai Desert Classic trophy, an Arabic coffee pot that has become one of the most recognisable trophies in the world of golf. It has been lifted by seven major champions to date; Ballesteros, Els, Couples, Olazabal, O'Meara, Woods and McIlroy.

The task of collecting the clubs took over three years and we are thankful to all the players involved for their assistance and generosity.


1989 Mark James - Ben Hogan persimon driver, the only wooden club in the collection
1990 Eamon Darcy - Titleist sand wedge
1991 No tournament
1992 Seve Ballesteros - Slazenger sand wedge
1993 Wayne Westner - Gary Player Anvil 9 iron
1994 Ernie Els - Callaway Big Bertha 3 wood, the course record was set using this club
1995 Fred Couples - Cleveland sand wedge
1996 Colin Montgomerie - Gold plated Ping Zing putter
1997 Richard Green - Ping Anser putter
1998 Jose Maria Olazabal - McGregor Tourney 60 degree wedge
1999 David Howell - Mizuno Tour Star putter
2000 Jose Coceres - Callaway Big Bertha 3+wood
2001 Thomas Bjorn - Taylor Made Burner 3 wood
2002 Ernie Els - Taylor Made X300 5 iron
2003 Robert Jan Derksen - Cleveland sand wedge
2004 Mark O'Meara - Titleist 907 D2 8.5 degree driver
2005 Ernie Els - Titleist 905T 8.5 degree driver
2006 Tiger Woods - Nike VR driver 10.5 degree
2007 Henrik Stenson - Callaway 58 degree wedge
2008 Tiger Woods - Nike VR driver 9.5 degree
2009 Rory McIlroy - Titleist Vokey 46 degree wedge
2010 Miguel Angel Jiminez - Ping Tour 60 degree wedge
2011 Alvaro Quiros - Callaway X 56 degree wedge
2012 Rafael Cabrera Bello - Titleist 910H hybrid club, 20 degree.    
2013 Stephen Gallacher - Titleist Vokey wedge 52 degree
2014 Stephen Gallacher - Taylor Made SLDR 460, 10.5 degree driver
2015 Rory McIlroy - Nike DriverVapor Pro 
2016 Danny Willett - Callaway XR 3 wood
2017 Sergio Garcia - TaylorMade M1 460, 9.5 degree driver              
2018 Li Haotong - TaylorMade 460, 8.5 degree driver                      
2019 Bryson DeChambeau - King F9, 9.0 degree driver                   
2020 Lucas Herbert - TaylorMade Milled Grind Wedge